Chilean Pebre

Chilean Pebre

This is DELICIOUS and definitely has that “I’d put that @*#& on anything” appeal. I used this as a dipping sauce recently for my Chilean Empanadas de Pino and Russell and I couldn’t get enough of it. When the empanadas were gone, Russell even said that he wished we had chips so he could keep eating the pebre.

Pebre is used as commonly in Chile as pico de gallo in Mexico and chimichurri sauce in Argentina. In doing research for my posts about Chile I have learned that there are countless variations of this condiment but the ingredients always include spicy peppers, onion, garlic, olive oil and cilantro. The fresh flavors are the perfect compliment to a meat or heavier meal like my Chilean Empanadas de Pino! 🙂

SPECIAL TIPS ON INGREDIENTS

Peppers – Most recommended for Pebre would be the aji pepper if you are lucky enough to find them locally. Unfortunately, I could not locate aji peppers but based on a recommendation I used jalapeno peppers instead. I have read that poblanos can also be used. If you don’t like heat, don’t worry! Replace the hot peppers in the recipe with a mild one and you will love it!

HOW TO MAKE PEBRE

This one is SO easy. If you have a food processor, put all the ingredients in and pulse to combine – that’s it! Pulse a few extra times for a thinner more versatile dipping condiment like mine.

ENJOY! – Kimberly Savage

Ingredients:

  • 1 Bunch Cilantro
  • 1 Small Red Onion
  • 2 Aji Peppers (Jalapenos or Poblanos work great also!)
  • 1 Garlic Clove
  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 T Red Wine Vinegar
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste (I used about 1/2 tsp. of each)

Instructions:

Put all ingredients in a food processer and pulse to combine. This can be served to preference, a bit chunky or smooth. I pulsed a few extra times for a smoother “dipping sauce”-like condiment. Enjoy!

Leave a comment