Pad Thai

Pad Thai

When I first decided to do Thailand this week I knew I had to cover Pad Thai – it is my takeout go to! The thing I didn’t realize? How “Americanized” most of the Pad Thai is that we can get in the United States. **A lot of what goes into that sweet and tangy sauce is actually ketchup!!** I have done a lot of research to be able to put together the authentic recipe I am happy to share with you below 🙂

NOTES ON PAD THAI INGREDIENTS

Soy Sauces – before this recipe, I never knew that there was more than the salty thin soy sauce we all know from the grocery store. In fact, they range all the way from salty and thin to sweet and even thick like molasses. I took a lot of inspiration in regards to the soy sauces used in this recipe from this post by Kaitlin on The Woks of Life and would highly recommend paying their site a visit for some more wonderful, authentic, Asian food. I was able to find these at my local Asian market.

Tamarind Paste/Concentrate – for this recipe I learned it was best to use tamarind paste as a base for the sauce. Unfortunately, Amazon mailed me tamarind concentrate – a much MUCH more potent blend. If you can only get tamarind concentrate, not to worry!! I learned that you can dilute the concentrate with water (2 parts water to 1 part tamarind concentrate). For this specific recipe that would work out to 1 1/3 Tbsp. tamarind concentrate to 2 2/3 Tbsp. water. Just mix the two with a whisk until well combined 🙂

Dried Shrimp – I thought this might be a lot for Russell and I but honestly, it wasn’t at all. The shrimp blends in perfectly with the sauce and doesn’t create a terribly fishy flavor. That being said, if you don’t think you want the dried shrimp in here feel free to omit! I ended up finding my dry shrimp on Amazon although I am sure a trip to your local Asian market would do the trick.

Sweet Preserved Daikon Radish – This was very easy to locate in the produce section of my local Asian market. I wasn’t sure how I would feel about this particular ingredient but I loved it! While you can omit it if you would like I highly recommend giving it a shot.

INGREDIENTS:

For Shrimp:

  • 1 Tbsp. Thin Soy Sauce
  • Juice of 1 Lime
  • 1 lb. Shrimp (shelled and deveined)

For Sauce:

  • 1/4 C Tamarind Paste (see note above if using concentrate)
  • 1/4 C Water
  • 1/4 C Palm Sugar
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. Fish Sauce
  • 1 tsp. Oyster Sauce
  • 1 Tbsp. Thai Sweet Soy Sauce
  • 1 Tbsp. Black Soy Sauce
  • 1 tsp. Chili Flakes

For Stir Fry:

  • 16 oz. Rice Noodles
  • 2 Tbsp. Vegetable Oil
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, minced
  • 1 Large Shallot, minced
  • 1 tsp. Fresh Ginger, peeled and grated
  • 1/4 C Dried Shrimp, processed to a powder
  • 12 oz. Extra Firm Tofu, cut into cubes
  • 1/4 C Sweet Preserved Daikon Radish
  • 1 Can Mung Bean Sprouts (or 1 cup fresh)
  • 1 C Julienned Carrots
  • 4 Eggs
  • 1/2 Peanuts, broken down into pieces
  • Juice of 1 Lime

Additions:

  • Garlic Chives
  • Chili Powder (optional)
  • Lime Wedges

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Soak the rice noodles per package instructions (will vary by type but will be about 25-30 minutes).
  2. Put the shrimp, lime juice and thin soy sauce in a shallow bowl and mix. Set aside and let the shrimp marinate while you prepare the sauce.
  3. In a medium bowl, add all sauce ingredients and stir until well combined, set aside.
  4. Add the shrimp and marinade to a wok and cook over medium heat until the shrimp turn pink (about 2 minutes on each side). Remove the shrimp and set aside on a plate.
  5. Heat vegetable oil in the same, uncleaned wok, over medium heat. Add garlic, cloves, ginger, dried shrimp, tofu cubes and preserved radish. Stir carefully to combine and let cook for about 4 minutes being careful not to burn any ingredients. Add the mung bean sprouts and carrots.
  6. Push all wok ingredients to one half and scramble the 4 eggs on the other half. Once scrambled, stir gently to combine.
  7. Drain the noodles and add to the wok along with the shrimp. Sprinkle with peanuts and drizzle the lime juice on top. Combine well.
  8. Serve in bowls with chili powder (optional), garlic chives and extra lime wedges on the side. Enjoy!

One Comment Add yours

  1. ragnarsbhut says:

    This does taste good.

    Like

Leave a comment