Tom Kha Gai (Thai Chicken Coconut Soup)

What a comfy cozy soup! I couldn’t believe how easy this one was and it came out so perfect. The real show stopper? – that broth! While chicken and mushrooms are the more standout components visually, the broth is packed full of amazing flavor from the infusion of ginger, galangal, Thai chili peppers, lemongrass and lime leaves. I am so excited to share this recipe with you 🙂

NOTES ON INGREDIENTS FOR TOM KHA GAI

Ginger and Galangal – ginger is common in any grocery store – galangal not so much. I took a trip to the international food store for this one and ended up finding it in the produce section labeled “young ginger.” I was skeptical at first whether or not I was actually just buying more ginger but it sure was different. It almost had the taste and smell of if ginger and pine had a baby. Galangal is a key ingredient in Tom Kha Gai (Kha actually means galangal root ;)) – so this is one I wouldn’t omit. If you have trouble finding it in the fresh produce department, I have read that people have good luck finding it in the frozen section as well.

Lime Leaves – my old roommate got me a Thai cookbook years ago for Christmas and SO many of the recipes called for lime leaves but at the time I could never find them. Luckily, for this recipe I was able to find some at the local international food store. I have read that these can come either fresh or frozen and either would work for this recipe. No luck finding them? No problem! This wonderful post by Mashed will give you plenty of options for a substitution 🙂

Lemongrass – lemongrass is pretty common in most grocery stores but if you can’t find it, that’s fine! You can substitute with a lemongrass paste (usually also found in the produce department).

Mushrooms – I personally used straw mushrooms for my Tom Kha Gai but I have read about people using all kinds from Shitake to Oyster or Cremini. Choose your mushrooms to your taste and availability. After making this, the only thing I would possibly change in the future is adding more mushrooms!

Palm Sugar – while I have found sources that say that this can be replaced with brown sugar, I have used Palm Sugar in every one of my Thai recipes this week so it is certainly not going to waste. If you are looking to have the most authentic version possible or are making multiple recipes that call for it, I would invest in some Palm Sugar.

NOTES ON PREPARATION FOR TOM KHA GAI

Just a head up! Many of the broth ingredients (lemongrass, lime leaves, etc.) end up being removed from the soup before serving. I couldn’t find anywhere if I was supposed to remove the ginger and galangal but they have never been included when I have ordered Tom Kha Gai at restaurants so I removed them as well. Don’t worry about losing any flavor! – with all of these ingredients being boiled in the initial steps of this recipe the broth will be VERY bold and flavorful.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Cup Galangal, sliced about 1/4″ thick
  • 1/2 Cup Ginger, sliced about 1/4″ thick
  • 3 Stalks Lemongrass, cut into 5″ pieces and smashed (can sub 3 tsp. Lemongrass Paste)
  • 4 Thai Chilis, sliced diagonally
  • 10 Lime Leaves
  • 3 Green Onion, white and green parts divided and sliced diagonally
  • 4 Cups Chicken Broth
  • 1 Can Straw Mushrooms, drained (can use other, see notes above!)
  • 1 lb. Chicken Breast, sliced thinly
  • 1 Can Coconut Milk
  • 1/2 Tbsp. Fish Sauce
  • Juice of 2 Limes
  • 1 Tbsp. Palm Sugar
  • 1 Bunch Cilantro, washed and roughly chopped

Instructions:

  1. Add galangal, ginger, lemongrass, lime leaves, Thai chilis, and the white parts of the cut green onion to a soup pot. Add the chicken broth and bring to a boil on medium heat, stirring occasionally, for about 10 minutes.
  2. Add sliced chicken breast and mushrooms to the pot. Cook, stirring occasionally for another 5 minutes.
  3. Remove the lemongrass (if using stalks), lime leave, galangal and ginger from the pot and discard.
  4. Add the coconut milk, fish sauce, lime juice, palm sugar and cilantro.
  5. Serve in bowls with garnished with the green parts of the cut green onions and additional Thai chilis (to taste). Enjoy!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kitchen Goss says:

    This looks delish x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ragnarsbhut says:

    This does look tasty.

    Like

Leave a comment